The Idol

About a thousand years ago (actually, 1969) I saw a movie called The Idol, which I don’t remember, but the soundtrack included a haunting torch song that I was crazy about. I wrote to the production company, asking if it was available as sheet music – I played piano, when there was one around, and wanted to be able to learn it. Some beautiful person sent back a promotional copy of the entire sound track album. My husband liked it too, and after the divorce, we used to take turns having custody of the album for a couple of years at a time. It disappeared long ago and I don’t even have a recording.

The song, whose title I don’t remember, but which may be “Won’t Somebody Believe Me?”, was sung by Cleo Laine. The composer, John Dankworth (her husband) was knighted a couple of years ago, the first British jazz musician to be honored in this way. They have a website where an incredible number of albums are for sale – but The Idol isn’t one of them, and the lyrics aren’t online anyplace. I hope I’ll be forgiven for trying to reconstruct them.

Won’t somebody believe me, in this troubled world
Won’t you believe me, when I say I’m alone
And the life that I’m leading makes me want to say
Trouble is the thing on my mind.

I could be lyrical with what I’m saying
But I’m hysterical in my empty, lonely life
I could refuse you, but I’d be praying
That you’d be back to find the lonely, only one]
And that’d be sad.

Won’t somebody believe me, in this troubled world
Won’t you believe me, when I say I’m alone
And the thoughts that I’m thinking make me want to say
Trouble is the thing on my mind.

That’s all I remember. Might be all there is. Great song. Great singer.