My feeling is, if it’s worth hearing once, it’s worth hearing 150 times. When I fall in love with an album, I’ll play it for a month with nothing else in between. Such a masterwork is Hedwig and the Angry Inch, the splendid sound track of a splendid movie, made from a splendid stage play.

To tell the strict truth, after listening to the whole a few times, I made a tape with just the ballads. The rockers are great, but I like to sustain a mood for writing. “Midnight Radio,” “In Your Arms Tonight” – does music get any better than this? In “Wicked Little Town” there’s a line, “…and nothing you can find that cannot be found,” that seems to be a Beatles homage. “Nothing you can do that can’t be done, nothing you can sing that can’t be sung…” Beatles, right?

One of my friends describes preparing for an important meeting as “putting on the mink eyelashes,” and I know the exact feeling. You don your armor and face the day. Apparently, every stage show must include a number where the character declares the necessity, no matter how shitty life is, to suck it up, smile, and move forward. The obligatory face-life-with-courage song, like “Tomorrow” in Annie. In this show, the transsexual rock star Hedwig sings “I’m pulling the wig down from the shelf.” Different metaphor, same idea.

RELATED: Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Best Song Lyrics Ever